We held our AGM in the Brandon Hotel Tralee at the end of May under the new format that had been decided at a previous AGM. Adjustments to the organisation of the AGM have proved very successful, with document packs for all members attending available at registration, and the use of a Data Projector for most of the agenda items. Standing Orders for AGM has now been given its proper status, with three non-Management Committee members and continuity  assured through the election each year of one replacement. The current Standing Orders members are Mick Daly, Miora Finnegan and Noel Spittle.

A number of amendments to our Constitution were passed which make it more coherent and have since been approved by the TUI Executive Committee. The revised Constitution is also downloadable from the website.

The AGM was also presented with a report from the Benevolent Fund sub-committee by Chairperson Jim McCarthy. He informed the meeting that the sub-committee had investigated a number of models and had brought a report to the Management Committee and had made a submission to the Finance Sub-committee of TUI and were awaiting a response.

Resolutions were passed dealing with the Alliance, TUI support, pensions and communication with members. Guests at our AGM included representatives from Retired Teachers Association of Ireland, the Retired Secondary Teachers Association. TUI was represented by Barry Williams Vice-President and Michael Gillespie, Assistant General Secretary.

The following Officers were elected Chairperson; Martin Hoye and Social/Cultural Officer; Risteard O Craoibhin, these join Treasurer; Tim O’Meara, Membership Officer; Michael McNulty and Secretary; Dan Keane to form an officer board to work on your behalf over the coming year. Many tributes were paid to outgoing Chairperson Jim McCarthy for his outstanding work on behalf of RMA members throughout the entire country. He leaves an excellent legacy, during his period as chairperson a branch structure has been set up with eighteen branches now in existence. (Continue reading below…)

  • Martin Hoye, RMA Chairperson. AGM 2017.
  • Tim O'Meara, RMA Treasurer. AGM 2017.
  • Dan Keane, RMA Secretary. AGM 2017.
  • Vincent Breslin, Donegal Area Representative & Chairperson Donegal Branch.
  • Jim Connolly, Cork branch member.
  • Eamonn Kerrigan, Dublin South Area representative & Dublin Branch Secretary
  • RMA members attending AGM 2017
  • Newly elected Chairperson Martin Hoye (left) with former chairperson Jim McCarthy. AGM 2017

As has been tradition, our Gala Dinner was the occasion for the Dr. Charles McCarthy Memorial Lecture. This year, we were entertained by Billy Keane son of the legendary John B who gave as insight into his life growing up in the home and public house of the great playwright.

Our AGM was followed the next day by a trip to Dingle and Slea Head.  We enjoyed glorious weather, stopping on the way for pictures at picturesque Inch beach and at O’Shea’s pub for tea/coffee.  The tour round Slea Head was magnificent, with views of Skellig Michael – out to sea – and nearby Inisvickullane.  Returning to Dingle, we enjoyed a relaxing lunch in Paidi’s Bar at the Dingle Bay Hotel.  The trip was a fitting end to a very successful AGM.

Of course it’s autumn again and another break looms. This time it’s off to the Boyne Valley Hotel Drogheda, from October 17th to the 20th. Check your membership renewal notice pack or the website for a booking form and other details. The programme includes two tours and a very attractive package has been negotiated.

Reminder to Retired VEC/ETB/IT members. Have you returned your completed DAS authorisation form? If not please consider doing so today

Dan Keane, RMA Secretary